Glass Invitational Awards for 2012

“Apiary Assemblage” – Glass: blown, sculpted, flame-worked, and fused murrine. 24h x 60 x 12″

Glass Alliance New Mexico (GANM) and Mill Fine Art have announced recipients of the Glass Invitational Awards for 2012.   Announcements took place during the Opening of the exhibit and after the keynote lecture by Marvin Lipofsky on Friday evening.

The 2012 Best In Show Award went to Red Shift by Santa Fe glass artist Harry Pollitt.  The three Jurors Recognition Awards went to Elodie Holmes, Laura Robbins and Deborah Klezmer for ‘Apiary Assemblage’, ‘Night House’, and ‘Not To Be Taken’, respectively.  Honorable Mention awards were presented by jurors Kate Elliott and Verne Stanford to Wesley Carr, Karen Bexfield.


2 thoughts on “Glass Invitational Awards for 2012

  1. Last Wednesday my husband, Dave, and I, by pure accident, came across the studio of Elodie Holmes. We watched in amazement as Jannine was in the process of creating a vase in the furnace. We then met John who was a pure delight to talk to. As if things could not be more enjoyable, we met Elodie Holmes in person. Elodie, you eyes dance with warmth and light and somehow you have managed to capture both in your exquisite glass art. You have such a humble and gentle spirit. As I gazed over your stunning glass art, I thought it was if you had taken arm loads of the Northern Lights and infused them into your glass. I felt honored to meet you and personally see your collection. You will never know how much it meant to us that you shared your time with us. And, I will never forget my gift that John gave to me. Never…..

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s